Blood and Sand on Crait: the Bull and the Matador… and a story of Blood in the SW movies

clairen45:

Disclaimer: bullfighting is a highly controversial topic. My meta is not an apology of bullfighting, I am not taking any stance in this particularly sensitive subject. I do not condone animal cruelty, and I am not trying to glorify it. I am merely illustrating what I think is an influence in the aesthetic or reference behind the duel on Crait between Luke and Kylo.

Precision: I will only focus on the movies (not the TV shows or comics, books or EU). I was going to write just on Crait but as I was working on the post, it seemed to me really important to address the theme of blood throughout the movies in order to better understand the impact of that scene. So bear with me throughout the digression about blood in Star Wars.

It starts with the idea that Crait is probably the goriest scene in all of SW in intent, if not so much in reality. Which makes it quite unique. But also seems like a logical apex in a trilogy (the ST that is) which could very well be a “trilogy of blood”.

Keep reading

Leave a comment